

July 6, 2020

To: Executive Committee

From: Darrell E. Johnson, Chief Executive Officer

Subject: Membership Appointment for the Measure M2 Environmental

Oversight Committee

Overview

As part of the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program, the Measure M2 Ordinance requires a 12-member Environmental Oversight Committee to make recommendations to the Orange County Transportation Authority Board of Directors on the allocation of revenues for programmatic mitigation and to monitor implementation. The three-year terms have expired for all members. Eleven of the existing committee members have expressed a desire to continue to serve and a replacement is recommended for one open seat.

Recommendations

- A. Approve the reappointment of eleven current committee members serving on the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program Environmental Oversight Committee for an additional three-year term.
- B. Appoint one committee member to replace an outgoing member on the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program Environmental Oversight Committee.

Background

Measure M2 (M2) includes a provision to provide comprehensive mitigation to offset environmental impacts of freeway improvement projects through the M2 Environmental Mitigation Program (Mitigation Program). In exchange, the state and federal resources agencies, consisting of the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) and the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), agreed to fast-track the permitting process and entered into a master agreement for the M2 freeway projects. The goal of the Mitigation Program is to deliver more effective mitigation while supporting expedited delivery of M2 freeway improvements.

The Mitigation Program was launched in fall 2007 with the creation of the Environmental Oversight Committee (EOC). The EOC provides guidance on project design and funding recommendations for consideration and approval by the Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) Board of Directors (Board). The M2 Ordinance defines the role and composition of the EOC, a 12-member committee, that includes two representatives of the OCTA Board, Director Lisa A. Bartlett as Chair and Director Laurie Davies. The other members include one representative each from the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), USFWS, CDFW, California Wildlife Conservation Board (WCB), Army Corps of Engineers, and the OCTA Taxpayer Oversight Committee. In addition, two public members and two members from a nongovernmental environmental organization serve on the committee (Attachment A). Terms of service are three years without any term limits.

Discussion

The M2 Ordinance requires the Board to appoint members to the EOC. One public member has chosen not to seek reappointment to the EOC and a candidate is being recommended to fill the open position. In June 2020, a Board subcommittee was established to review the applicants and propose a recommendation to the full Board, as has been the case for all past recruitments. Chairman Jones formed the Board subcommittee, which included Chairman Jones, EOC Chair Bartlett and Director Davies.

A total of seven candidates who had backgrounds in environmental preservation, development, and civic services were considered for the public member open seat.

The Board subcommittee is recommending Bev Perry (Attachment B) to fill the open public member position. Ms. Perry is a civic engagement consultant who is a former OCTA Board Member and City of Brea Councilwoman. She has direct experience in environmental mitigation and has served on multiple conservancies including the Wildlife Corridor Conservation Authority and Hills For Everyone. In addition, she served as chair of the Orange County Council of Governments and president of the Southern California Association of Governments.

The eleven other EOC members have expressed the desire to continue to serve on the committee for an additional three-year term. The recommended EOC Roster is enclosed as Attachment C.

Summary

The three-year term for members of the M2 Environmental Oversight Committee has expired. There are no term limits. Eleven existing committee members have expressed interest in serving another term and are being recommended for reappointment and a replacement is recommended for one open public member seat.

Attachments

- A. Orange County Local Transportation Authority Ordinance No. 3 July 24, 2006 (pages B-5 through B-6)
- B. Bev Perry Resume
- C. Recommended Environmental Oversight Committee 2020 Roster

Prepared by:

Marissa Espino

Community Relations Specialist,

Principal

714-560-5607

Approved by:

Maggie McJilton

Interim Executive Director,

External Affairs

714-560-5824