

June 5, 2017

To: Executive Committee

From: Darrell Johnson, Chief Executive Officer

Subject: Membership Appointments for the Measure M2 Environmental

Oversight Committee

Overview

As part of the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program, the Measure M2 Ordinance requires a 12-member Environmental Oversight Committee to make recommendations to the Orange County Transportation Authority Board of Directors on the allocation of revenues for programmatic mitigation and to monitor implementation. The three-year terms have expired for all members. Eleven of the existing committee members have expressed a desire to continue to serve, and a replacement is recommended for one open seat.

Recommendations

- A. Approve the reappointment of current committee members serving on the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program Environmental Oversight Committee for an additional three-year term.
- B. Appoint one committee member to replace an outgoing member on the Measure M2 Environmental Mitigation Program Environmental Oversight Committee.

Background

Measure M2 (M2) includes a provision to provide comprehensive mitigation to off-set environmental impacts of freeway improvement projects through the M2 Environmental Mitigation Program (Mitigation Program). In exchange, the state and federal resources agencies, consisting of the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) and the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), agreed to fast-track the permitting process and entered into a master agreement for the M2 freeway projects. The goal of the program is to deliver more effective mitigation while supporting expedited delivery of M2 freeway improvements.

The Mitigation Program was launched in the fall of 2007 with the creation of the Environmental Oversight Committee (EOC). The EOC provides guidance on program design and funding recommendations for consideration and approval by the Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) Board of Directors (Board). The M2 Ordinance defines the role and composition of the EOC, a 12-member committee that includes two representatives from the OCTA Board, Director Lori Donchak as Chairman and Board Vice Chair Lisa Bartlett. The other members include one representative each from the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), USFWS, CDFW, California Wildlife Conservation Board, Army Corps of Engineers, and the OCTA Taxpayer Oversight Committee. In addition, two public members and two members from a nongovernmental environmental organization serve on the committee (Attachment A).

Discussion

The M2 Ordinance requires the Board to appoint members of the EOC. Caltrans holds a permanent designated seat on the EOC. The Caltrans representative has chosen not to seek reappointment, and a candidate has been recommended to serve on the EOC. Terms of service are three years without any term limits.

Caltrans District 12 has recommended Deputy District Director, Division of Environmental Analysis, Chris Flynn as the new Caltrans representative to serve on the EOC (Attachment B). Mr. Flynn has worked with Caltrans for 20 years and currently oversees environmental compliance on all Caltrans freeways, highways, and toll roads, as well as supports environmental compliance with multiple Caltrans transportation partners in Orange County.

The eleven other EOC members have committed to continue to serve on the committee for an additional three-year term. The recommended EOC Roster is enclosed as Attachment C.

Summary

The three-year term limit for members of the M2 Environmental Oversight Committee has expired. There are no term limits. Eleven existing committee members have committed to serve another term and are being recommended for reappointment, and a replacement is recommended for one open seat.

Attachments

- Α. Orange County Local Transportation Authority Ordinance No. 3 July 24, 2006 Pages B-5 through B-6
- Letter from Charles Baher, Department of Transportation, to Marissa В. Espino, Orange County Transportation Authority, dated April 11, 2017; letter from Chris Flynn, Department of Transportation, to Marissa Espino, Orange County Transportation Authority, dated May 10, 2017
- C. Recommended Environmental Oversight Committee Roster

Prepared by:

Marissa Espino Community Relations Officer 714-560-5607

Lance M. Larson

Lune M (won

Approved by:

Executive Director, External Affairs

714-560-5908